Andhra Pradesh Secretariat Departments

Government of Andhra Pradesh: An Overview

The state government of this state, located on the south east of India is constitutionally headed by the Governor of Andhra Pradesh, who is vested with the power of appointing the Chief Minister of the state as well as the other Council of Ministers. With a term period of 5 years, the Governor and the Chief Minister is responsible for the Executive and the Legislative form of Government. However, the Judiciary form is taken care of by the state's High Court, which is the highest place to appeal for the state related matters.

About the Andhra Pradesh Secretariat

The Secretariat of this state of the country is the office of the state's Chief Minister and his or her Council of Ministers. The present Secretariat is based in a palace named Saifabad Palace that dates back to the year 1888 and is situated near the Hussain Sagar Lake. Built during the reign of Mir Mahbub Ali Khan, who was the Hyderabad's 6th Nizam, many of the old buildings are being replaced by the new ones. Initially, each of the old buildings was named with Telugu names but later those names were changed to English alphabets. Presently named as "Block - A", "Block -B" and so on, these buildings house the office of the different departments of the Secretariat of Andhra Pradesh.

Andhra Pradesh Secretariat Departments

The following table shows the names of those buildings as well as the departments that are based within it:

Sl. No. Name of the BuildingNames of the Departments
1Block - ADepartment of Home
  Department of Minorities welfare
2Block - BDepartment of General Administration (Some sections)
3Block - CChief Minister's office
  Government's Chief Secretary
  Department of General Administration
4Block - DDepartment of Animal Husbandry
  Department of Agriculture and Co-operation
  Department of Energy
  Department of Environment
  Department of Finance
  Department of Industries and Commerce
  Department of Information Technology
  Department of Science and Technology
  Department of Social Welfare
5Block - GHeritage building
6Block - HChief Electoral Officer's office
  Official Language Commission
  Vigilance Commission's office (Block H's north wing)
  Secretariat Association (Block H's north wing)
  Secretariat Employees Co-operative Housing Society (Block H's north wing)
  Central Library (Block H's southern wing)
7Block - JDepartment of Buildings and Roads
  Department of Command Area Development
  Department of Law
  Department of Higher Education
  Department of School Education
  Department of Transport
8Block - KDepartment of Finance (Central Cash Sections)
  Pay and Accounts Office (Secretariat Branch)
  Post Office
  Secretariat Employees Co-operative Credit Society
  Telegraph Office
9Block - LDepartment of Health, Medical and Family Welfare
  Department of Housing
  Department of Labor
  Department of Municipal Administration and Urban Development
  Department of Panchayat Raj and Rural Development
  Department of Planning
  Department of Revenue
  Department of Women Development and Child Welfare

Apart from the departments mentioned above, listed below are some of the other Secretariat departments of the Andhra Pradesh state Government:

  • Department of Backward Classes Welfare
  • Department of Communications
  • Department of Consumer Affairs, Food and Civil Supplies
  • Department of Dairy Development
  • Department of Employment, Training and Factories
  • Department of Fisheries Development
  • Department of Forests
  • Department of Legislature
  • Department of Public Enterprises
  • Department of Rain Shadow Area Development
  • Department of Youth Advancement, Tourism and Culture

Last Updated on 20 June 2013