Track Your Constituency

Ropar Parliamentary Constituency Map and Election Results

Ropar Parliamentary Constituency (Lok Sabha) Election Results

The town of Ropar in Rupnagar district in the state of Punjab, presently known as Rupnagar, was established by Raja Rokeshar and named after his son, Rup Sen.

Ropar (SC) Parliamentary Constituency has a population of 48,165 (2001 census). Males comprise 53% of the total population while females constitute the rest of 47%.

Buta Singh, former Union Home Minister under Rajiv Gandhi’s Government, won 2 times (1971 and 1980) from Ropar (SC) Parliamentary Constituency.

List of Winning MP and Runner up from 1967 to till date from Ropar Lok Sabha Constituency

YearState NamePC CodePC NamePC TypeWinnerSexPartyTotal VoteRunner UpSEXPARTYTotal Vote
1967Punjab10Ropar(SC)B. SinghMINC127986B. SinghMADS123914
1971Punjab10Ropar(SC)Buta SinghMINC168243Ajaib Singh SandhuMSAD126993
1977Punjab7Ropar(SC)Basant SinghMSAD276418Buta SinghMINC193846
1980Punjab8Ropar(SC)Buta SinghMINC(I)271689Basant SinghMSAD228671
1985Punjab7Ropar(SC)Charanjit SinghMSAD336503Raja SinghMINC262098
1996Punjab7Ropar(SC)Basant SinghMSAD327958Shamsher SinghMINC256867
1998Punjab7Ropar(SC)Satwinder KaurFSAD378487Man SinghMBSP292983
1999Punjab7Ropar(SC)Shamsher SinghMINC326651Satwinder KaurMSAD249270
2004Punjab7Ropar(SC)Sukhdev Singh LibraMSAD347631Shamsher Singh DulloMINC313994

  Parliamentary Constituencies in Punjab  
PC No.PC NamePC No.PC Name
1Gurdaspur8Fatehgarh Sahib
3Khadoor Sahib10Ferozpur
6Anandpur Sahib13Patiala

  Parliamentary Constituencies of India  

Last Updated on : January 4, 2014



Which state is the largest producer of uranium in India? The state of Andhra Pradesh is the largest producer of uranium in India. Tummalapalle village located in the Kadapa district of Andhra Pradesh is considered as one of… Read More...
Which Indian state produces the maximum wind power? The production of power from wind energy has considerably increased in the recent years. Very recently in June this year, India became the fourth largest country with 34.293 gigawatt of… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of diamonds? Madhya Pradesh is the only state with a diamond mine in the country as well as in Asia. During the year 2017-18, Madhya Pradesh has produced 28,424 carats of diamonds (up to December… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations