Track Your Constituency

Bihar General (Lok Sabha) Elections 2019 Latest News & Live Updates

Bihar General Election Results

Map of Bihar Parliamentary Constituencies

Bihar Parliamentary Constituencies Valmikinagar Paschim-champaran Gopalganj Siwan Maharajganj Purvi-champaran Vaishali Sheohar Sasaram Karakat Buxar Aurangabad Arrah Saran Patliputra Jahanabad Gaya. Sitamarhi Madhubani Muzaffarpur Hajipur Patnasahib Nalanda Nawada Jamui Darbhanga Samastipur Ujiarpur Jhanjharpur Supaul Madhepura Khagaria Araria Kishanganj Purnia Katihar Bhagalpur Begusarai Munger Banka
Print Email Save   Buy Now

*Map Showing the Parliamentary Constituencies of Bihar State. Disclaimer

Bihar Lok Sabha Election 2019 Dates

StatePhase I (91)Phase II (97)Phase III (115)phaseIV (71)Phase V (51)phase VI (59)Phase VII(59)

Located in the eastern part of India, Bihar is surrounded by West Bengal in the east and Uttar Pradesh in the west. In the north, the state is bordered by Nepal and in the south by Jharkhand. In 2000, the southern part of Bihar was sub-divided and the state of Jharkhand was born.

Member Representation at the Centre

Total Lok Sabha seats in Bihar are 40 for Members of Parliament to the Lok Sabha. The State Legislative Assembly is bicameral in nature and has a strength of 243 members.

Major Political Parties in Bihar

The national parties that have a presence in Bihar are:
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)
  • Indian National Congress (INC)
  • Janata Dal (United) (JDU)
  • The regional parties include:
  • Lok Janshakti Party
  • Bihar People's Party
  • Bharatiya Jan Congress
  • Rashtriya Janata Dal
  • Bihar Vikas Party
  • Kisan Vikas Party
  • Sampurna Vikas Dal
  • Krantikari Samyavadi Party
  • Samajwadi Krantikari Sena
  • Rashtrawadi Kisan Sanghatan.

Election history

As per the update on Bihar elections, the first assembly election was held in 1951 with the Indian National Congress (INC) emerging as the winning party. Sri Krishna Sinha was nominated as the Chief Minister. The INC continued to have a stronghold for more than two decades. During this period, the state saw about 16 Chief Ministers. Some of them were Deep Narayan Singh, Krishana Ballabh Sahay, Bhola Paswan Shashtri, Satish Prasad Singh, Abdul Gafoor, and Jagannath Mishra. In the Seventh Assembly election held in 1977, Janata Party emerged as the winner. In the 8th Assembly Election, INC came back to power and continued to be in power in the 9th assembly session also. In the tenth assembly elections held in 1990, Janata Dal came to power with Laloo Prasad Yadav as the Chief Minister, and he continued to hold office in the eleventh assembly session. In the 12th Assembly Election held in 2000, the Rashtriya Janata Dal came to power with Rabri Devi as the CM. President's Rule was imposed in the thirteenth assembly elections. In the fourteenth elections held in 2005, Janata Dal (United) and Bharatiya Janata Party came together to form the government with Nitish Kumar as the Chief Minister. The government continues till date even after the sixteenth assembly elections in 2014.

The Constitution of the Current Government

The current government is run by a National Democratic Alliance formed by the coalition between the JD(U) and the BJP. The government is led by Chief Minister Nitish Kumar.

Top Political Leaders

This is the 4th General Election which the MapsofIndia Chronicling. Visit for live updates, latest election news and election schedule for 2019 General (Lok Sabha) Elections. For more election news, you can like our Facebook page or follow our Twitter page, where you can get latest updates from each of the 543 PC (parliamentary constituencies) for 2019 General Elections. Election results, live election results, election results state wise for 2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be announced on 23 May 2019.