Panchayats in Rajasthan

The illustrious political personality and the father of nation- Mahatma Gandhi nurtured the vision of Gram Swaraj. His dreams were eventually fulfilled when democratic powers were decentralized and the local government-system in rural areas was established in the form of gram panchayats throughout the country.

History- Rajasthan was one of the major states where the3 tier Panchayati Raj System was introduced on the recommendations of Balawant Raj Mehata Committee. This was inaugurated by Pandit Jawahar Lal Nehru on 2nd October 1959 at Naugaur.

Chaudhari Kumbharam Arya (1914-1995) a famous freedom fighter, famous Agrarian leader and parliamentarian was the founder member of the Panchayat Raj system in Rajasthan.

However the Panchayat system had no constitutional status until 1993. On 23rd April, the Panchayati Raj gained constitutional status through the Constitution (Seventy-third Amendment) Act, 1992.

Objectives-The main objective of Panchayati Raj is to develop a system of devolvement and democratic decentralization of powers with an aim of fostering rapid social and economic development and prompt justice. Some social developmental measures include-

  • Improving school infrastructure and quality of education
  • Increase water and electricity availability
  • Reduce the occurrence of communicable diseases
  • Increase income generated per household
The Directive Principle of the State Policy, Article 40 of the Constitution of India provides that the State shall undertake steps to organize village Panchayats and these Panchayats will be empowered with necessary authority to enable them to function as units of self-government.

Present status-The Panchayat Raj system of Rajasthan and other states consists of a three-tier structure-
  • The Village Panchayatas
  • The Panchayat Samitis
  • The Zila Parishad
The Rajasthan Panchayats, Panchayat Samitis and Zilla Parishads were assigned 33, 58 and 19 subjects respectively by The Rajasthan Panchayat Raj Act (1994), however these were subject to 'conditions laid down by the government'. The 32 districts of the state is divided into 241 tehsils, 237 Panchayat Samities and 9,184 village panchayats Currently elections to the Rajasthan Panchayats are frequently held that are supervised by the state Election Commission. In 2000 more than1.2 lakh representatives were elected to the panchayats.

Last Updated on : 01 December 2011



Which States Share Boundary with China?India, in total, shares land borders with 6 sovereign countries. China is one of those. Below are the Indian states which share borders with the country. 1. Jammu and Kashmir This northern state of India is mostly located in the Himalayan mountains. It shares a… Read More...
Which States Share Boundaries with Pakistan? There are four states that share a border with Pakistan, namely, Jammu and Kashmir, Punjab, Rajasthan, and Gujarat. The India Pakistan Border is quite intriguing. Since India has installed 1,50,000 flood lights on… Read More...
Which Places in India Still Largely Speak Sanskrit?Sanskrit is considered as Dev Bhasha, the language of Gods. It has a history of around 3500 years. It used to be a primary language of ancient India. Its earliest form Vedic Sanskrit, was prevalent from 1500 500 BCE. However, it is fading… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow for border and boundary demarcations