Basna City

Lying very close to the border of Orissa, the town of Basna is an important part of the Mahasamund Distrcit of Chhattisgarh. Lying between the geographical location of north latitude 21°28' and east longitude 82°82', Basna is situated at an altitude of two hundred and sixty six meters. The Basna Town is one of Cities in Chattisgarh, which has attachment with the great epic - Ramayana. It is believed that Narsinghnath near Basna was visited by Rama and Sita during their fourteen years of Vanvas or exile.

The Basna of today has changed a lot and has a population of around eighty seven thousands people. The area is gradually emerging as one of the leading towns and it has been successful in increasing the literacy rate in the recent years. The current literacy rate is sixty nine percent, which is more than the national average of sixty percent approximately. Among the literates, the female comprises forty three percent while the male literacy rate is fifty seven percent. A breakup of the total population will show that there are fifty one percent male and forty nine percent female. Children under six years of age constitute fourteen percent of the population.

Narsinghnath is a major tourist attraction in Basna. Thousands of pilgrim and tourists visit the area every year. Very near to Basna, the stretch of lush green forest is also a place of interest for the wild life freaks.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013