Ratanpur was previously known by the name of Ratnapur. Ratanpur in Chhattisgarh derived its name after the founder of the district King Ratnadev. Ratanpur functioned as the capital of the then ruling dynasty, Kalchuri. It was founded in 1000 A.D. From Bilaspur city, the city of Ratanpur is located at a distance of 25 km. It is situated on the highway of Bilaspur-Ambikapur.

In Ratanpur, the ruins of ancient palaces, forts and temples can be seen. These archaeological evidences are reflective of the art and architecture of the people of the state. Ratanpur is scattered with archaeological evidences. The fort built in Ratanpur is looked after by the Archaeological Survey of India. It is also important as a tourist destination in Chhattisgarh. The place is also popular among the local people of Chhattisgarh and to people from outside the state as a religious center.

King Ratnadev, the founder of Ratanpur had built the Mahamaya temple. The Mahamaya temple of Ratanpur houses the idols of two goddesses; Laxmi and Saraswati. This temple is known as one of the Sidh Peeth in India. The devout Hindus come to this temple through out the year. They come to receive the blessings from the goddesses. There are numerous other temples dedicated to many Hindu gods and goddesses that have been built near the temple of Mahamaya. The devotees visit the temple of Mahamaya during the Navaratri festival every year. Fairs are set up during this time of the year in Ratanpur.

The tourist places in Ratanpur in Chhattisgarh are :
  • Mahamaya Mandir
  • Bees Dubaria Sati Mandir
  • Rampanchayat Temple
  • Kendai Waterfall
  • Hasdeo Bango Dam

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013



How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...

We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations