Among the numerous towns, which dot the political topography of Chhattisgarh, Mowa is one of the quaint, little towns. It is a census town in the district of Raipur, which, incidentally is the namesake of the capital of the state.

Chhattisgarh is a relatively young state in the political history of India. It was earlier a part of Madhya Pradesh, which literally meant 'Central region'. After the separation, the towns like these came into prominence. When the census of India took place in 2001, the population of Mowa was 13,697. The male to female population ratio was approximately 53:47. Even though it rests in proximity to the tribal regions of the state, the average literacy rate of Mowa is 66%, which is noticeably higher than the national average, which is 59.5%. Among the male population, the literacy rate is 74% and among the females it is 57%.

The picture perfect town of Mowa is not as advanced as Raipur or Bilaspur as far as infrastructure in concerned, but there is a traditional charm and alluring quality about it. It is a kind of town, which is off the beaten track. It is also an appealing place for tourists and city slickers weary of the humdrum of life in a concrete jungle. The town is devoid of the hustle and bustle of the bigger cities and has a certain old world charm to it.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013



How many states are there in India? There are 29 states and 7 union territories in India. The states have their own government while the union territories are governed by the central government. The states are namely, Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar,… Read More...
Which cities in India have the metro railway system? The Metro railway system and service are operational in 10 cities in India. These are Kolkata, Delhi, Bengaluru, Gurugram, Mumbai, Chennai, Jaipur, Kochi, Hyderabad, and Lucknow. The Kolkata Metro rail is the… Read More...
Which states in India have less population than Delhi? Delhi has a population of approximately 18.6 million people, as per the latest census. Delhi's area is much less as compared to many states and Union territories in India. But in… Read More...

We follow for border and boundary demarcations