The city of Pathalgaon is located at 83° 28' 11" East Longitude and 22° 34' 12" North Latitude. It is, basically, a Nagar Panchayat which refers to a form of urban body prevalent in Indian administrative set up. Pathalgaon is situated at an elevation of 546 meters above the sea level in the Jashpur district of the Indian state of Chhattisgarh.

Pathalgaon city is home to 14,054 persons. As per the census of 2001, this population comprises of 51% males which is about 7,161 heads and 49% females which is around 6,893 heads. The average literacy rate of the people of Pathalgaon is 70%, which is quite higher than the Indian national average of 59.5%. 77% of the male population is literate and 63% of the female population of Pathalgaon is literate. 14% of the population of Pathalgaon is under the age of 6 years.

Tomato is produced in high volume in Pathalgaon. This quantity is so huge that the main tomato growing village of Ludeg is termed as the Tomato village. 15 nearby villages also produce tomato in masses. This contribute largely to the economy of Pathalgaon as the crop fetch huge money from the nearby states of Uttar Pradesh, Orissa, Bihar, Jharkhand and even Gujarat.

The nearby towns and cities of Pathalgaon are Sur, Bakaruma, Guthurma, Boguldega, Chandagar and Lelanga. Jharsuguda and Hirakud houses two airports which are nearby to Pathalgaon. Highway connections to the district headquarter of Jashpur are available from Pathalgaon. The STD code of the town is 07765.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013