Champa City

The Chhattisgarh city of Champa is situated in the district of Janjgir-Champa, which is centrally located in the state of Chhattisgarh. The city had been the seat of administration of the Kulchury rulers and has historical importance to the state. The city is replete in temple structures and the natural beauty of the surrounding landscape.

It is believed that the city of Champa derives its name from the herb called Champa that was cultivated in the city and the district in plenty. The district was known for the cultivation of two kinds of Champa herb, the yellow flowered and the white flowered Champa. The herb has healing qualities and was used by the people as a medicinal herb. Although the city is no longer adorned by the Champa tree, the city bears the name recalling the earlier growth of the herb in abundance in the region.

The region was an established seat of administration of the Maharaja Jayawalya Dev who ruled in the medieval period. The region is famous for its tribal settlements that have their own system of belief and customs followed in the hamlets. The various temples constructed in the medieval age adorn the city and make exciting tourist destinations of the city.

Some of the temples found in and around the city of Champa are mentioned below:
  • Vishnu Mandir
  • Pithampur Shiv Mandir
  • Ghatadai Tripur Sundar Devi
  • Madanpur Devi Mandir
  • Shivarinarayan Laxminarayan Temple
  • Turridham Shiva Temple
  • Kharud Nagar Laxmaneshwar Temple
The city of Champa is located in 23.13 degrees north latitude and 83.45 degrees east longitude. The city rises to an altitude of 872 meters. The historic importance of the city along with the various temples makes it a frequently visited tourists destination.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013