The city of Pithora lies at 21°27' North latitude 82°52' East Longitude in the Mahasamund district of the newly formed state of Chhattisgarh in India. Pithora is, actually, a Nagar Panchayat which refers to a form of urban body prevalent in Indian administrative set up. Situated at an average elevation of 304 meters above the sea level, it is home to 7929, as per the census of 2001.50% of the population of Pithora comprises of males, while the other 50% comprise of the females. This means the sex ratio of Pithora is perfectly balanced.

The average literacy rate of the people of Pithora is 68%, which is quite higher than the Indian national average of 59.5%. 75% of the male population is literate and 60% of the female population of Pithora is literate. 14% of the population of Pithora is under the age of 6 years.

The nearby towns and cities of Pithora are Jhalap, Bundeli, Mohda, Barekel, Paraswani, Nawapara, Sankra, Tendukona and Baya. Pithora is served by the nearby airports located in Nawapara, Raipur, Bilaspur, and Nuagaon. Roads well connect the city of Pithora with these important cities by local buses and rental cabs.

Pithora paintings belong to a traditional art form of Chattisgarh and are used for auspicious occasions as a tribute to the respective Gods. These paintings in myriad hues use natural colors and predominantly used for decorating tribal houses. Usually, these paintings are associated with rituals and would include a horse in the depiction signifying sacrifice of horses.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013



Which Indian state is the largest producer of coffee?Karnataka state is the largest producer of coffee in India. The state contributed about 70% of the total production of coffee in India during 2016-17 with 2.33 lakh MT coffee production. The main variety of coffee grown in Karnataka is Robusta, but the state also… Read More...
Which is the longest National Highway in India?Previously known as National Highway 7, National Highway 44 (NH 44) is the longest-running National Highway in India. It is 3,745 km long and covers the North-South Corridor of NHDP. It starts from Srinagar in the north and ends in Kanyakumari in the south. NH-44… Read More...
Which Indian state is the largest producer of silk?Karnataka is the largest producer of silk in India. The state produces an average of around 8,200 metric tonnes of silk every year, which is about one-third of the total silk production in India. Up to November 2017, Karnataka has produced 5,962 metric tonnes of… Read More...

EU GDPR Update:
MapsofIndia has updated its Terms and Privacy Policy to give Users more transparency into the data this Website collects, how it is processed and the controls Users have on their personal data. Users are requested to review the revised Privacy Policy before using the website services, as any further use of the website will be considered as User's consent to MapsofIndia Privacy Policy and Terms.
We follow editorialcalls.org for border and boundary demarcations