Among the various settlements, which dot the landscape of Chhattisgarh, Mungeli is a picturesque city whose scenic beauty, magical charm and panoramic vistas enchant tourists. It is a census town in the district of Bilaspur.

Chhattisgarh is a comparatively young state in the history of India that came into independent existence only in the new millennium. It was previously a part of Madhya Pradesh, which factually meant 'Central region'. After the division, the towns like Mungeli came into prominence. When the census of India took place in 2001, the population of Mungeli was 27,387. The male to female population ratio was around 52:48. The average literacy rate of Mungeli is 69%, which is perceptibly higher than the nationwide average, which is 59.5%. Among the male population, the literacy rate is 78% and among the females it is 59%.

Mungeli town is not as urban as Raipur or Bilaspur as far as development is not concerned, nor does it have a cosmopolitan culture. Yet does a coveted tourist haunt owing to the attractive and charming aura it exudes. It is also an alluring place for tourists. It does not have the push and shove of the bigger cities and has a certain traditional charisma that attracts multitude of nature loving tourists.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013