Balod City

The Durg district of Chhattisgarh houses the city of Balod. Involving a total of about 90 villages and around 49 gram panchayats, Balod is a bustling city of Durg district. The prime occupation of the local inhabitants of Balod is agriculture. However, there are several other alternative sources of income too that exist in this developing city of Chhattisgarh.

Durg district accommodates a total of 28, 10, 436 people (census 2001). With a total land area of 8701.80 sq km, the district comprises a number of cities out of which Balod claims a special mention. Although the city of Balod is still in its primary phase of growth, yet there are ample scopes of further development. Since the lands of Balod are irrigated by the tributaries of Mahanadi, the crop production is quite high in the city. Also, plans of setting up of industrial units are in the pipeline.

Tourism is another strong area where Balod has enough chances of growth. The popular sightseeing spots of the city include Sati Chabutra, Prachin Kila and a Mandir all of which speaks of the ancient heritage of Balod. People from various parts of India regularly visit Balod to explore the hidden treasures of the place. Even foreign tourists are also found cherishing the mystique aura of the old temples of Balod.

Accessibility to Balod is quite convenient. The only railway station railway station is situated in the district of Durg which is 58 (approx.) km away from Balod city. Also, the nearest air terminal is also set in the Durg district from where one can avail of taxis and buses which go to the interiors of Balod.

As one of the popular cities of Chhattisgarh, Balod is truly making a mark of its own in the state.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013