Koriya or Korea District was an erstwhile princely state of British India that came into its official existence on 25th May 1998. Manendragarh is an eminent municipal city of the district that is a part of the state of Chhattisgarh. The city housing the taluk headquarters is sited near the Koriya-Madhya Pradesh border.

The terrains of Koriya District's Manendragarh are a medley of the Ganga basin and the Mahanadi basin. The Hasdeo River, a tributary of the river Sone, drains the city. Lush, verdant forests dot the landscape of Koriya District. This prompted the government to improve the quality of the Sal, Mahua, , Bahera, Sisam, Kusum, Salya, Khair, Arun, Gamhar and Bamboo forests and thus Manendragarh came into being following an official notification on 12th September 2003.

The nearest railway junction in Manendragarh Railway Station is on the Anuppur-Chirmiri rail route while the Mana Airport located 364 km away at the capital city of Rajpur. The Nation Highway numbered 78 passes through the city and forms its arterial road network. The city is a repository of minerals and abounds in its deposits of high-grade coal, limestone, fireclay and red oxide.

The 2001 Census has recorded a population size of 50,355 with the male- female ratio being 53: 47 along with a highly commendable literacy rate of 72%. The populace comprises mainly of the Kol, Gond, Bhuniyar tribes. The friendly and hospitable tribal people lead colorful lives full of laughter and gaiety and converse mainly in Hindi and Chhattisgarhi. They are also very fond of hunting, which is prohibited nowadays by stringent government legislative laws.

The cascading ripples of the Amrit Dhara waterfall and the Sidh-Baba Mountain housing a revered Lord Shiva temple add to the aesthetic appeal and augment Manendragarh's tourism potential. The Khedia Chitra Mandir and the Vimal Shree cinema halls and the Karam Ghoga and Udal Kachhar picnic grounds are the few recreational facilities that the city offers.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013