Bhaiyathan City

Although Bhaiyathan is a mere village in the Suraguja District of Chhattisgarh » State, it has emerged as a great place of tourist interest. The district headquarters of Ambikapur is sixty five Kilometers away from Bhaiyathan Village. Situated on the bank of the River Rend, Bhaiyathan in Chattisgarh has a historical background.

There is an intriguing story behind the foundation of Bhaiyathan. Dalthman Sahi and Dharamal Sahi, the two nephews of King Agnikul Chauhan of Mainpuri were returning from Puri, halted in Ambikapur to rest for a few days. The Maharaja of that area was not present at that time and his palace was seized by some rebels. The queen asked the brothers for help and with the help of their limited army, the palace was rescued. The King on his return thanked the duo and presented the governance of Jhilimili area to them.

The brothers drove away all the other rulers in that region to establish their state. The queen of Surguja had sent Rakhi to the Chauhan brothers and since then, they shared a very cordial relation as sister and brothers. Bhaiya means brother and thus the land came to known as Bhaiyathan.

Bhaiyathan of today is a fast developing area with a thermal power station coming at the place. The Tamor Pingla Wild Life Sanctuary is very close to Bhaiyathan and the Devi Temple at Kudargarh is also not far away. These places have made Village Bhaiyathan, a favorite with the pilgrims and tourists.

Cities in Chhattisgarh
Kirandul City Namna Kalan City Sirgiti City Bhatapara City
Chhuikhadan City Shivrinarayan City Baloda City Pandariya City
Bhilai City Bemetra City Arang City Phunderdihari City
Dharamjaigarh City Dongragarh City Birgao City Jamul-Durg City
Mehmand City Baloda Bazar City Takhatpur City Surajpur City
Khairagarh City Dipka City Simga City Lormi City
Kunkuri City Telgaon City Baikunthpur City Bhilai Charoda City
Tilda-Newra City Lingiyadih City Gandai City Urla-Raipur City
Akaltara City Chharchha City Jashpur-Nagar City Bhatgaon City
Gharghoda City Bagbahara City Mowa City Bade-Bacheli City
Saraipali City Deori Bilaspur City Bhanpuri City Kota City
Bilha City Bodri City Kondagaon City Gobranawapara City
Chirmiri City Ahiwara City Champa City Dongargaon City
Bhaiyathan City Pathalgaon City Pithora City Geedam City
Jagdalpur City Kharod City Katghora City Ambikapur City
Dhamdha City Frezarpur City Balod City Sarangarh City
Kharsia City Pendra City Kumhari City Naila Janjgir City
Naya Baradwar City Basna City Patan City Gogaon City
Khamhria City Sakti City Gaurella City Manendragarh City
Ambagarh Chowki City Kurud City Ratanpur City Ramanujganj City
Dalli Rajhara City Banarsi City Vishrampur City Naya Raipur City
Mungeli City Khongapani City    

Last Updated on : 29th March 2013